03
Mar
09

BlogPuzzle.com archives millions of blogs

A new site went live today that has put the “p” in puzzle.  It’s called Blog Puzzle.  Though I’ve gone to their site and sniffed around, I honestly have no idea what it really is or how it works (so a puzzle it is indeed).

The home page says:

Hello, I’m a website of million blogs.
Well, not just blog, it can be a video channel, photo stream, twitter, or any web 2.0 profile.
Let me tell you how it works.

You can browse me in 2 ways:

Full view shows all the content in 1 page. Every avatar is so small that it looks like a black pixel.

By this point, I was already lost (remember, I still don’t know exactly what this site is).  Yet, I’m curious.  So I continue to read:

Page view shows one of 2,500 pages. Every page has 400 cells, you can take any free cell you want and place your avatar linked to your blog in it. Get a second cell and make a combo-avatar like the one with an elephant and a bear. Invite a friend to take a cell next to you.

At this point, I was very tempted to click away from the site.  But there was more (there is always more).  So I hung in there waiting for the big payoff — clarity:

Every cell has a coordinate: 1-1 (page 1) is top left and 999-999 (page 2500) is bottom right.
2,500 pages are placed in a square 50 pages high and 50 pages wide.
Every cell on “minimap” is a page:

It was at this point that I felt my brain frying.

In all fairness to BlogPuzzle.com, I didn’t give the site a fair amount of time considering the fact that it is clearly “different” and reaching for a new aesthetic in archiving blogs.  But having said that, isn’t the point of archiving to make mass quantities of information easily and readily accessible (archives shouldn’t be a “puzzle” – they should just “be”).

There also is not a lot of content on the site so I’m more than willing to check in periodically to see how they progress (and even cheer them on).  It’s not that I don’t believe that websites shouldn’t offer us a challenge, I just don’t think in this day and age when there are millions of sites and limited attention spans that it helps to have a site that is not immediately user-friendly.  This will be interesting.

I couldn’t find much on this site when I tried to research it (Techcrunch hasn’t posted anything on it yet).  I’d love to know your take on it.

0 Responses to “BlogPuzzle.com archives millions of blogs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter Updates

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

